Mississippi Auto Insurance

Mississippi Auto Insurance

Posted on

If you are going to operate a motor vehicle in the state of Mississippi, you are required by state law to carry a minimum of $25,000 in Bodily injury protection per person and $50,000 per accident. You must also carry $25,000 in Property damage coverage. There are three ways for you to satisfy these requirements for Mississippi auto insurance.

  1. You can carry coverage with a licensed insurer that meets those requirements.
  2. You can post a bond for those same amounts with the state.
  3. You can make a cash deposit or security deposit equal to those minimum requirements with the state.

Carrying auto insurance is the most convenient way to make sure you are complying with the law. It is illegal to be stopped by law enforcement simply to check whether or not you have proof of coverage, however if you are stopped you must show proof. If you cannot provide proof of insurance you can be cited with a violation and face a fine of $1,000 and suspension of you license until such proof can be provided.

Keep in mind these coverages only cover injury to others when you are at fault. It also covers damages to others’ property up to the minimum limits. It does not cover damage to your vehicle or injuries you sustain in the event you are found to be at fault. For that you would need to purchase collision and medical insurance. Collision insurance covers damages done to your vehicle when you are at fault. Remember your insurance only covers you to the limits on your policy. If the damage is greater you will be responsible for damages over that amount. Medical insurance would pay your medical expenses and also any physical therapy that is prescribed by a doctor.

Mississippi auto insurance is governed by a Tort System. If you are involved in an auto accident, someone must be held liable for the cause of the accident. The person at fault is generally responsible for all damages. Compensation for claims is the responsibility of the person found to be at fault. Being that Mississippi is a Tort state, it is usually recommend that driver’s consider carrying greater limits than just the state minimums requirements.

Mississippi does not require uninsured motorist coverage. If you are involved in an accident with an uninsured driver you must pay for injuries and damages yourself. Uninsured motorist are on the rise on our nations roads, it is a wise idea to purchase uninsured motorist coverage. With uninsured motorist coverage you can make a claim with your insurance company to cover injuries and damage.

3 thoughts on “Mississippi Auto Insurance

Leave a Reply to Klemetson Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *